John Eaton


John Eaton is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Music. He is a composer with special interest in opera, and has penned over fifteen operas and garnered international acclaim as a composer and performer of electronic and microtonal music. Notable works include his television opera, Myshkin, and the operas The Cry of Clytaemnestra and The Tempest. He is the recipient of several prestigious awards, including a MacArthur Foundation "genius" award in 1990. His music was chosen to represent the United States at the International Rostrum of Composers a quarter-century ago; since then, he has received a citation and award from the National Institute of Arts and Letters, three Prix de Rome Grants, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and commissions from the Fromm and Koussevitsky Foundations and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. Eaton was also Composer-in-Residence at the American Academy in Rome.